6 Comments
Dec 1, 2022Liked by Amanda Kusek

For me, I love to say Die Hard is a Christmas movie, mostly because it’s a kick-ass flick and it’s just fun to think it is. But if I put it up to any real scrutiny and established some criteria for what a Christmas movie is, it might not hold up. But then again, it may…

Besides taking place during the Christmas season, I would say the plot has to be significantly tied to the fact it is Christmas. Ideally, you couldn’t write the script to take place in August for example, because it wouldn’t make sense to your story.

For Die Hard, it’s very important that it’s Christmas Eve. Hans Gruber has specifically targeted that time because there will be hardly anyone in the skyscraper except the people he is targeting who will be there for the Christmas party. Bruce Willis also wouldn’t be visiting if it wasn’t Christmas. There’s also Christmas decor and music as well. So Christmas is a key element.

However, the essential through line of the movie doesn’t necessarily make it essential to Christmas. From a writing standpoint, you could, say, set the movie on the 4th of July. Maybe that’s John and Holly’s anniversary, or one of their kids birthdays. The movie would still be kick-ass if it were hypothetically July 4th.

So for the the quandary is…does the plot and key story points/beats have to be germane to Christmas? I don’t know…maybe I’ll spike my eggnog and see if I get any clarity. 😂🤣🎄

Looking forward to hearing your take on this!

Expand full comment